

Minutes Human Relations Commission December 10, 2019

Minutes of the HUMAN RELATIONS COMMISSION held on Tuesday, December 10, 2019, 6:00 p.m., at the City Hall, 3rd Floor Conference Room, 31 E. Fifth Street, Tempe, Arizona.

(MEMBERS) Present:

Carl Hermanns, Chair
Dino Castelli, Vice-Chair
B. J. Ayers (arrived late)
Beth Dietz
Ira King, Jr.
Jeanne Powers
Joe Rojas
Hugo Tapia
Kate Vawter

City Staff Present:

Jonae Harrison, Equity & Inclusion Manager Megan Hutchison, Executive Assistant

Guests:

Vice Mayor Kuby MaryBeth Hollmann Elizabeth Hollmann

Call to Order

Chair Hermanns called the meeting to order at 6:06 p.m.

Agenda Item 1 – Public Appearances

None

Agenda Item 2 – Consideration of Minutes: HRC – November 12, 2019 Minutes (Motion Required)

Motion by Vice-Chair Dino Castelli to approve the meeting minutes of November 12, 2019; Second by Commissioner Rojas. Motion passed on an 8-0 vote. Ayes: Chair Carl Hermanns, Vice-Chair Dino Castelli, and Commissioners Beth Dietz, Ira King, Jr., Jeanne Powers, Joe Rojas, Hugo Tapia, and Kate Vawter. Nays: None. Absent: Commissioners B.J. Ayers, David Kader, and Rochelle Johns.

Agenda Item 3 – Dolores Huerta Recognition (Motion Required)

Chair Hermanns welcomed Vice Mayor Kuby to the meeting. Vice Mayor Kuby thanked the Commission for their time and introduced Elizabeth and MaryBeth Hollmann to the Commission. Vice Mayor Kuby and Elizabeth Hollmann then presented the Commission with the history of Dolores Huerta and how important her work as an activist has been. Vice Mayor Kuby then requested the Commissions assistance in honoring Dolores Huerta. The Commission discussed the request put forward and agreed to support recognizing Dolores Huerta with a day of advocacy and social justice and two awards, one for a student and the second for a neighborhood. Motion made by Commissioner Vawter to move forward with recognizing Dolores Huerta: Second by Commissioner Tapia. Motion passed on a 9-0 vote. Ayes:

(MEMBERS) Absent:

David Kader Rochelle Johns Chair Carl Hermanns, Vice-Chair Dino Castelli, and Commissioners B.J. Ayers, Beth Dietz, Ira King, Jr., Jeanne Powers, Joe Rojas, Hugo Tapia, and Kate Vawter. Nays: None. Absent: Commissioners David Kader and Rochelle Johns. The Commission thanked Vice Mayor Kuby, Elizabeth Hollmann, and MaryBeth Hollmann.

Agenda Item 4 – HRC Vision & Structure (Motion Required)

Tabled until January meeting. No motion required.

Agenda Item 5 - Board and Commission Annual Report (Motion Required)

Jonae Harrison handed out the draft of the report for final review by the Commission. The Commission discussed the report and discovered that Challenge Day was not listed as a goal. Jonae will update the report and Chair Hermanns will review for final approval.

Motion by Commissioner King to accept the Board and Commission Annual Report with amendments and Chair Hermanns final review; second by Commissioner Tapia. Motion passed on a 9-0 vote. Ayes: Chair Carl Hermanns, Vice-Chair Dino Castelli, and Commissioners B.J. Ayers, Beth Dietz, Ira King, Jr., Jeanne Powers, Joe Rojas, Hugo Tapia, and Kate Vawter. Nays: None. Absent: Commissioners David Kader and Rochelle Johns.

Agenda Item 6 - HRC Chair and Vice Chair (Motion Required)

Chair Hermanns opened the floor for the nominations of Chair.

Chair Hermanns nominated Vice Chair Castelli as Chair.

Commissioner Tapia seconded the nomination of Vice Chair Castelli for Chair.

Vice Chair Castelli accepted the nomination for Chair.

Commissioner Vawter nominated herself for Chair.

Commissioner King seconded the nomination of Commissioner Vawter for Chair.

Each nominated Commissioner spoke to the Commission on why they felt they would be the best person for the position of HRC Chair. The Commission then voted anonymously for the position of Chair. The final vote was: Commissioner Vawter with five votes and Vice Chair Castelli with four votes. Commissioner Vawter will be the new HRC Chair starting in January 2020.

Chair Hermanns opened the floor for the nominations of Vice Chair.

Commissioner Tapia nominated himself for Vice Chair.

Commissioner Vawter seconded the nomination of Commissioner Tapia for Vice Chair.

Commissioner Tapia accepted the nomination for Vice Chair.

Commissioner Dietz nominated Vice Chair Castelli to remain as Vice Chair.

Commissioner Vawter seconded the nomination of Vice Chair Castelli for Vice Chair.

Each nominated Commissioner spoke to the Commission on why they felt they would be the best person for the position of HRC Vice Chair. The Commission then voted anonymously for the position of Vice Chair. The final vote was: Commissioner Tapia with six votes and Vice Chair Castelli with three votes. Commissioner Tapia will be the new HRC Vice Chair starting in January 2020.

Note for record: To comply with Arizona's Open Meeting laws and Tempe City Code 2-229, the motion to elect a Commission Chair and Vice Chair originally conducted on 12/10/2019, must be conducted again at the next Commission Meeting, 2/11/2020, and will include a record of each member's vote.

Agenda Item 7 – Diversity Office Update (Motion Required)

Jonae Harrison handed out copies of the MLK Diversity Awards Nominations forms that had been submitted for the upcoming event on January 17,2020. The Commission reviewed the hand outs and it was decided that Commissioners Tapia and Powers would work with Jonae in selecting the winners. No motion required. Jonae then let the Commission know there would be many new components to the awards breakfast: winners will record voice overs with b-roll of MLK that will play during the event, nominations for the 2021 awards will be open during the event and attendees are given several opportunities to nominate someone while sitting at their table, a violinist will be in the lobby playing music during registration, and different sponsorship levels have been established for the event including a coffee and tea sponsorship for \$700.

Jonae informed the Commission of the upcoming Unity Walk event which will be held on Saturday, January 25, 2020. She will be meeting with the other participating cities the week of 11/19 to discuss the upcoming event and she plans on proposing a canned food drive as part of the walk. The Commission discussed and decided against the idea and would rather focus efforts on increasing attendance for the event. Jonae then let the Commission know about the changes being made to the upcoming event. Kettle corn will be served instead of chips, there will be four pop up display booths to display art, and there will be a large banner available for people to color and draw upon.

<u>Agenda Item 8 – Recognition of Outgoing Commissioners (Motion Required)</u>

Chair Hermanns presented a plaque to Commissioner Ayers who will be departing the Commission as of December 31, 2019. Commissioner Kader's plaque will be mailed. The remining Commissioners thanked the outgoing Commissioners for their support.

Agenda Item 9 - Upcoming Meeting January 14, 2020

Motion made by Vice-Chair Castelli to adjourn the meeting Second by Commissioner Vawter Meeting adjourned at 8:00 p.m.

Prepared by: Megan Hutchison

Reviewed by: Jonae Harrison